Beachcomber... By The Way

Humour from JB Morton
from archive.org

Beachcomber... By the Way was a radio programme that aired from March 1989 to December 1994. There were 18 half-hour episodes and it was broadcast on BBC Radio 4, and was later rerun on BBC Radio 7. It starred Richard Ingrams, John Wells, Patricia Routledge, John Sessions and Brian Perkins.

The programme was based on the long-running humorous column "By the Way" in the Daily Express, written by J. B. Morton under the pseudonym "Beachcomber".

For series 3, June Whitfield and Joan Sims joined the cast.

Characters include judge Mr Justice Cocklecarrot with alternating prosecuting/defending counsels Mr Tinklebury Snapdriver and Mr Honeyweather Gooseboote with appearances in court by The Red Bearded Dwarfs. Also, Dr Smart-Allick at his school Narkover and Dr Strabismus (whom God preserve) of Utrecht with his odd inventions.

Series 1 1989, Series 2 1991, Series 3 1994

  1. no title (27Mb)
  2. no title (26.7Mb)
  3. no title (26.8Mb)
  4. no title (26.6Mb)
  5. no title (26.4Mb)
  6. no title (27Mb)
  7. no title (26.5Mb)
  8. no title (26.2Mb)
  9. no title (26.5Mb)
  10. no title (26.6Mb)
  11. no title (26.3Mb)
  12. no title (26.1Mb)
  13. no title (26.1Mb)
  14. no title (26.2Mb)
  15. no title (26.2Mb)
  16. no title (26.5Mb)
  17. no title (26.5Mb)
  18. no title (26.5Mb)

MP3 files hosted by archive.org.