The Mercury Theatre on the Air
A series of hour-long radio dramas created by Orson Welles in 1938.

The Mercury Theatre on the Air is a radio series of live radio dramas created by Orson Welles. The weekly hour-long show presented classic literary works performed by Welles's celebrated Mercury Theatre repertory company, with music composed or arranged by Bernard Herrmann.

The early dramas in the series were praised by critics, but ratings were low. A single broadcast changed the program's ratings: the October 30, 1938 adaptation of H. G. Wells' The War of the Worlds.

  1. Dracula (12.8Mb)
  2. Treasure Island (14.6Mb)
  3. A Tale of Two Cities (13.6Mb)
  4. The Thirty Nine Steps (14.4Mb)
  5. I'm a Fool / The Open Window / My Little Boy (26.6Mb)
  6. Abraham Lincoln (13.7Mb)
  7. The Affairs of Anatole (13.8Mb)
  8. The Count of Monte Cristo (13.5Mb)
  9. The Man who Was Thursday (19.7Mb)
  10. Julius Ceasar (15.2Mb)
  11. The Immortal Sherlock Holmes (12.8Mb)
  12. Hell on Ice (13.4Mb)
  13. Seventeen (13.7Mb)
  14. Around the World in 80 Days (13.1Mb)
  15. War of the Worlds (17.6Mb)
  16. Heart of Darkness / Life with Father (26.8Mb)
  17. A Passenger to Bali (13.8Mb)
  18. Pickwick Papers (14Mb)
  19. Mercury Theater Remembered (9Mb)

MP3 files hosted by archive.org.