The Museum Of Curiosity
QI's John Lloyd hosts the comedy panel game on BBC Radio 4

The Museum of Curiosity, is a comedy panel game on BBC Radio 4 that was first broadcast on 20 February 2008. It is hosted by John Lloyd (Professor of Ignorance at the University of Buckingham, and later at Southampton Solent University). He acts as the head of the (fictional) titular museum, while a panel of three guests – typically a comedian, an author and an academic – each donate to the museum an ‘object’ that fascinates them. The radio medium ensures that the suggested exhibits can be absolutely anything, limited only by the guests’ imaginations.

Bill Bailey acted as co-host of the programme in the first series, under the title of curator of the museum. Bailey left the show and was replaced by Sean Lock in the second series. Each subsequent series has seen a different comedian take over as the sidekick/curator, with Jon Richardson, Dave Gorman, Jimmy Carr, Humphrey Ker, Phill Jupitus, Sarah Millican, Noel Fielding and Jo Brand assuming the role in the third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth series respectively.

The programme has often been compared to the television panel game QI. Both were co-created by Lloyd, several of the Museum's 'curators' and comic guests have appeared regularly on QI, and the QI Elves (QI's research team, who provide host Stephen Fry with live information as required during the programme) provide the research. As a result, some critics consider the radio show to be a spin-off of the TV programme, most reviews of The Museum of Curiosity, however, are positive.

  1. 0101: Richard Fortey, Brian Blessed, Sean Lock (25.4Mb)
  2. 0102: Fran Beauman, Gary Sheffield, Ben Elton (25.5Mb)
  3. 0103: Arthur Smith, Frank Close, Ronald Hutton (25.8Mb)
  4. 0104: Victoria Finlay, Kevin Day, Alastair Fothergill (25.4Mb)
  5. 0105: Jonathan Miller, Philip Ball, Marcus du Sautoy (25.7Mb)
  6. 0106: John Gribbin, Alan Davies, Martha Reeves (25.3Mb)
  7. 0201: Chris Donald, Brian Eno, Dave Gorman (25.7Mb)
  8. 0202: Gavin Pretor-Pinney, Simon Singh, Tim FitzHigham (25.6Mb)
  9. 0203: Bettany Hughes, Chris Addison, Rupert Sheldrake (25.6Mb)
  10. 0204: Charlotte Uhlenbroek, John Hodgman, Oliver James (25.5Mb)
  11. 0205: Kate Adie, Jon Richardson, Roger Law (25.4Mb)
  12. 0206: Clive James, Tim Minchin, Philip Pullman (25.1Mb)
  13. 0301: Marcus Chown, Terry Pratchett, Shappi Khorsandi (25.7Mb)
  14. 0302: Suggs, Ruth Padel, Leigh Francis (25.7Mb)
  15. 0303: Richard Wiseman, Kevin Eldon, Jon Ronson (25.8Mb)
  16. 0304: Michael Welland, Sarah Bakewell, Simon Evans (25.6Mb)
  17. 0305: Ronni Ancona, Daniel Tammet, Robin Hanbury-Tenison (25.7Mb)
  18. 0306: Sarah Millican, David Eagleman, Neil Gaiman (25.7Mb)
  19. 0401: Francesca Stavrakopoulou, Alex Bellos, Jimmy Carr (25.4Mb)
  20. 0402: Graham Linehan, Helen Scales, Rory Sutherland (25.6Mb)
  21. 0403: Roger Highfield, Robin Ince, Gareth Edwards (25.6Mb)
  22. 0404: David McCandless, Natalie Haynes, David Crystal (25.5Mb)
  23. 0405: Alain de Botton, Sara Wheeler, Alex Horne (25.5Mb)
  24. 0406: Lucie Green, Harry Enfield, Alan West (25.4Mb)
  25. 0501: Erica McAlister, Al Murray, Jan Bondeson (25.6Mb)
  26. 0502: Stuart Clark, Tom Hart Dyke, Jo Brand (25.4Mb)
  27. 0503: Humphrey Ker, Dr. Pamela Stephenson-Connolly, Prof. Sir Andre Geim (25.7Mb)
  28. 0504: Frank Cottrell Boyce, Dr. Alice Roberts, Andy Nyman (25.6Mb)
  29. 0505: Dr. Helen Czerski, Irving Finkel, Sean Hughes (25.6Mb)
  30. 0506: Dr. Buzz Aldrin, Marc Abrahams, Sara Pascoe (25.6Mb)
  31. 0601: John Blashford-Snell, Mark Watson, Joann Fletcher (25.5Mb)
  32. 0602: Andrew O'Neill, Amanda Palmer, Volker Sommer (25.4Mb)
  33. 0603: Howard Stringer, Jane Bussmann, Richard Ingrams (25.6Mb)
  34. 0604: Richard Herring, Kristen Lippincott, Christofer Clemente (25.6Mb)
  35. 0605: Robert Llewellyn, Cleo Rocos, Kevin Warwick (27.5Mb)
  36. 0606: Paul Sinha, Maggie Aderin-Pocock, David Frost (27.5Mb)
  37. 0701: Jimmy Wales, Helen Keen, Kees Moeliker (27.5Mb)
  38. 0702: Kevin Dutton, Sandra Knapp, Richard Osman (27.5Mb)
  39. 0703: Sandi Toksvig, Will Storr, Lieven Scheire (27.5Mb)
  40. 0704: Rich Hall, Anna Keay, Henry Marsh (27.5Mb)
  41. 0705: Clive Anderson, Anne Dudley, Richard Williams (27.5Mb)
  42. 0706: Neil Innes, Bradley Garrett, Isabel Behncke Izquierdo (27.5Mb)

MP3 files hosted by archive.org.