The Price of Fear

1970s horror series with Vincent Price
from archive.org

The Price of Fear is a horror/mystery radio serial produced by BBC Radio during 1973, 74 & 83. The host and star of the show was Vincent Price.
This show stands out in Price's radio career as some of the episodes are based on fictional adventures of Vincent Price himself, in which Price plays himself, while others have him merely introducing the macabre tale of the week. Twenty-two episodes were produced. Writing credits for the series include William Ingram, Stanley Ellin, Richard Davis, R. Chetwynd-Hayes, A. M. Burrage, Elizabeth Morgan, Rene Basilico, Roald Dahl and Price himself. Fifteen of the episodes were rebroadcast by BBC Radio 7 in the spring of 2010.

Remains to be Seen by William Ingram (based on the story by Jack Ritchie)William and Mary by Barry Campbell (based on the story by Roald Dahl)Cat's Cradle by Richard Davis (based on "The Squaw'" by Bram Stoker)Meeting in Athens by Maurice Travers (based on "So Cold, So Pale, So Fair" by Charles Birkin)The Man Who Hated Scenes by William Ingram (based on the story by Robert Arthur)Lot 132 by Elizabeth MorganThe Waxwork by Barry Campbell (based on the story by A.M Burrage)Fish by Rene BasilicoSoul Music by William IngramGuy Fawkes' Night by Richard DaviesCome As You Are by William IngramSpeciality of the House (based on the story by Stanley Ellin)The Ninth Removal (based on the story by R. Chetwynd-Hayes)An Eye for An Eye by William IngramBlind Man's Bluff by William IngramNever Gamble With A Loser (probably not recorded)Goody Two Shoes by William IngramTo My Dear, Dear Saladin by William IngramThe Family Album by William IngramNot Wanted on Voyage by William IngramOut of the Mouths by William IngramIs There Anybody There? by William Ingram

  1. 73-09-01 Remains To Be Seen (52.1Mb)
  2. 73-09-08 William and Mary (52.5Mb)
  3. 73-09-15 Cat's Cradle (52Mb)
  4. 73-09-22 Meeting in Athens (52.1Mb)
  5. 73-09-29 The Man Who Hated Scenes (54.7Mb)
  6. 73-10-06 Lot 132 (49.9Mb)
  7. 73-10-13 The Waxwork (55.3Mb)
  8. 73-10-20 Fish (55.2Mb)
  9. 73-10-27 Soul Music (55.1Mb)
  10. 73-11-17 Guy Fawkes Night (54.9Mb)
  11. 74-04-06 Come as You Are (53.5Mb)
  12. 74-04-13 The Speciality of the House (52.8Mb)
  13. 74-04-20 The Ninth Removal (53.5Mb)
  14. 74-04-27 An Eye for an Eye (53.7Mb)
  15. 74-05-04 Blind Man's Bluff (55.2Mb)
  16. 83-05-30 Goody Two Shoes (54.4Mb)
  17. 83-06-06 To My Dear, Dear Saladin (54.1Mb)
  18. 83-06-13 The Family Album (54.4Mb)
  19. 83-06-20 Out of the Mouths (51.6Mb)
  20. 83-07-04 Not Wanted on the Voyage (53Mb)
  21. 83-07-04 Is There Anybody There? (54.1Mb)

MP3 files hosted by archive.org.